A bit of bliss: DIY Hand Scrubs

Dry and itchy skin. That is how I can describe mine this winter. It has never been like this before, so I am in a new territory. I started searching online and I found an abundance of DIY sugar and salt scrubs on Pinterest. A few, in particular, caught my interest so I decided to play mad scientist in the kitchen. I ended up trying quite a few from different websites, but I altered some of the “ingredients”, and amounts to fit what I had on hand. I was very pleased with 2 of my attempts- Pretty in Pink Sugar Hand Scrub & Luxurious Brown Sugar and Honey Hand Scrub so much so that I had to share because it was SO easy (do you have 15 minutes?) and really budget friendly (I had everything in my pantry and bathroom)! Seriously, I would pay at least $20 for an 5oz jar of this stuff at the mall, easily!

So, without further ado, here are two of my favorite recipes. Both are wonderfully nourishing and offer you a bit of luxury after a chaotic day. Enjoy!

Pretty in Pink Hand & Body Sugar Scrub2014-02-12 09.48.50

Ingredients:

1 C granulated white sugar

1 TBL gentle cleansing wash (I used Purpose face wash, but you can use baby wash as well)

1.5 TBL baby oil (you can also use Vitamin E oil instead, for its nourishing properties and as a preservative, but you won’t get that sweet smell. You can also add 1 tsp along with the baby oil if you like.)

half to 1 drop of red food coloring (for a pretty pink color)

Directions: Pour sugar into small bowl. Next add gentle cleansing wash and baby oil (and Vit E oil if using). Gently mix all together until sugar is just saturated. Add food color and slowly stir until it becomes a pale pink color. Store in an airtight container.

To Use: Wet hands. Put about a tablespoon of sugar scrub into palm of hand and gently scrub all over hands and fingers (it will sud up a little). Rinse off and pat hands dry. Follow up with your favorite lotion for baby soft hands!

Luxurious Brown Sugar and Honey Hand Scrub2014-02-19 11.30.57

Ingredients:

1 C Dark Brown sugar

2 TBL Coconut Oil (I used the Organic Dr. Bonner’s brand)

1 TBL Honey

1.5-2 tsp Vitamin E oil  (for the nourishing properties, and as a preservative)

Directions: Pour sugar into small bowl. Next add Coconut Oil, Honey, and Vit E oil. Gently mix and fold ingredients all together until mixed well together. It may take a few minutes. Store in an airtight container.

To Use: Wet hands. Put about a tablespoon of sugar scrub into palm of hand and gently scrub all over hands and fingers. Rinse off and pat hands dry. Follow up with your favorite lotion for amazingly soft hands that smell like cookies! Pure Luxury!

**Tip: For both scrubs, I recycled my “Bonne Maman” jam jars and used them as storage; they are the perfect size. (Plus, it was very budget friendly and I am always looking for ways to be more “green”, and help our environment!)

Leave a Reply

