Saw it. Pinned it. Did it!- A Frame Tent

6a00d8358081ff69e201761774b814970c-800wi

I know I said that I was probably only going to post a Saw it. Pinned it. Did it! post monthly, but I actually have a handful that I have already done, and can’t wait to share! In truth, I forgot I had done this project a few months ago and now that we brought it back out, we have been using it non-stop for the past couple of weeks since the weather has been so gorgeous! I remembered that I had made it from a Pinterest tutorial, and I just HAD to share!

(The “pinspiration” version is the one above, mine is below)

2014-03-20 12.10.42

A while back when I was perusing Pinterest for things to do with my toddler, I found a tutorial for a DIY A Frame Tent from one of my favorite blogs, A Beautiful Mess, and I knew had to make it for my son. The tutorial images are so pretty, and the process was simple enough that I could actually do it! There are no small parts, which I love, because my son will find the one thing you don’t want him to have and go straight for it. I easily convinced my hubby to take me to the hardware store to gather the wood supplies, and the total materials cost me around $16 because I already had all the fabric I needed on hand.

I was given an old lace tablecloth, that was incredibly ripped up, by a friend of mine who knew that I love to sew, and thought I may be able to do something with it. That fabric sat in my bin for close to a year and I almost threw it out a couple of times because I had absolutely no idea what to do with it! When I saw this tutorial, I knew that my ripped up tablecloth finally had a new purpose, so I fixed it up and low & behold, it was a perfect fit! In total, the tent only took about an hour and a half to make once I had all the dimensions figured out!

2014-03-20 12.10.57

For the most part I love it, the only downfall is when the tent is on hardwood floors (like what we have throughout the house) it completely slides flat, so it has to be used on a carpeted or non-slick floor. I originally wanted to use it inside during the winter as a fun indoor “fort”, but even with a blanket underneath it kept sliding down flat. I ended up using twine around the top parts to hold it and it worked fine, but I was always worried it was going to fall down on the kiddo so it was put away until now. It never said anything about that in the tutorial, so I was a little annoyed. Besides that, it is perfect for our needs, and my son loves it! I have a feeling that we will be using it all spring & summer long!

2014-03-20 12.11.55

Do you have any cool DIY projects that you have found on Pinterest and done? If so, please share! I’d love to see what other cool and crafty things are actually being done! You can follow me on Pinterest here!

Until next time…

One thought on “Saw it. Pinned it. Did it!- A Frame Tent

Leave a Reply

