Saw It, Pinned It, Did It! : DIY Foaming Hand Soap

I think I am about to blow your mind! At least I hope I am.

As I have mentioned before, I love Pinterest and am always looking for fun, easy DIY projects that help us save a few pennies here and there since we are currently a one income family. I recently pinned a tutorial on how to make your own “Foaming Hand Soap” and I was just astounded at how well this turned out. As a mom of a toddler, we go through bottles of the stuff so fast! Each time I make a Target run, I would inevitably buy a bottle or two of our (formerly) go-to brand: “Method Foaming Hand Soap” in Sweetwater, which typically costs around $2.99 per bottle (each bottle lasts us about 3 weeks give or take).

I had never really thought about it much, but I was spending A LOT on hand soap. SO, when I found out that I can make my own foaming hand soap with my favorite brand (Mrs. Meyers Clean Day Liquid Hand Soap, which is Alcohol-Free, DMDM Hydantoin-Free, Contains No Aluminum Chlorohydrate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate Free, Dye-Free, Paraben-Free, and costs about 3.99 per bottle), I was so excited to give it a try. I am terrible at math, but my mommy logic brain realized that this hand soap was now going to last us a REALLY long time! Score!

I HIGHLY recommend that you try this your self! It is so ridiculously easy, and will save you so much money in the long run! (Think of all the shoes you can buy with the money you saved!)

What you need:

  • Your favorite liquid hand soap (non-creamy versions foam best), I used Mrs. Meyers Clean Day Liquid Hand Soap in Geranium
  • A Tablespoon
  • A Foaming Hand Soap bottle (I just re-used the Method bottles we already had)
  • water

IMG_1360

Directions:

  1. Firstly, if you are re-using a bottle make sure to rinse it out until the water runs clear and no soapy bubbles are left.
  2. Next, measure out 3 tablespoons of your preferred hand soap, and pour into the bottom of empty soap dispenser.
  3. Gently fill bottle 3/4 of the way up with water, and gently swirl around to mix soap and water together (DON’T SHAKE UP!).
  4. Put lid back on and use as normal. Ta Da!! So EASY!

IMG_1361 2


*Just a thought*

Since I had my son, I absolutely hate not being able to pronounce ingredients found in my food and home products, so I have been buying “organic” and lots of fresh foods. It seems so unnatural to wash my hands with products that contain stuff like Triclosan (tri-cla-What?), which is one of the more harmful ingredients found in anti-bacterial soaps today. It has been shown to be a thyroid and hormone disruptor even in just small doses. It has also been found to encourage bacterial resistance to antibiotics. “Studies have increasingly linked triclosan (and its chemical cousin triclocarban), to a range of adverse health and environmental effects from skin irritation, endocrine disruption, bacterial and compounded antibiotic resistance, to the contamination of water and its negative impact on fragile aquatic ecosystems.” (beyondpesticides.org)

I bring this up because I want to also keep my son safe and healthy, and in making my own hand soap (without all the crazy anti-bacterial ingredients) I am encouraging healthy habits without possible side effects, and I encourage the same of you as well! Just something to think about.

 

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

