Bits of Bliss: A Simple DIY Pumpkin Spice Coffee

I know what you are thinking- “OH NO, not another PSL hack- Jeny, haven’t you seen all of the recipes online?!”  Oh YES, I have definitely seen all those “hacks” floating around out there that boast they are just as good or even better than Starbucks most famous coffee drink: the Pumpkin Spice Latte. I’ve even tried a handful of them myself, and unfortunately every time I attempted to make the “recipe”, my DIY PSL always came out tasting unsatisfactory.

I honestly think it’s because all of these recipes called for actual pumpkin purée. Yeah, it makes sense, pumpkin purée for pumpkin spice. But for me, something always tasted a little off. It just wasn’t the same at all! But hey, at almost $5 for a cup of “specialty” coffee, I don’t blame those people for trying a dupe. Seriously! $5 for ONE cup of coffee!? Pocketbook Ouch!

I must admit I have been totally guilty of indulging in one or two (a week) of the delicious PSL treats when the season comes around. I have been an AVID fan since I discovered that warm, sweet, cinnamon-y, concoction years ago. My friends have even told me that my “signature scent” is pumpkin spice. Hey, I’m totally okay with that!

So, you can imagine how excited I got when I saw a YouTube video that utilized Pumpkin Spice Extract (WHAT!? They make that?!) to make a simple syrup you can add to your coffee! Of course I had to try it! The only bummer was the video didn’t really give a recipe. So, I went on a mission to recreate this coffee “dupe” to see if it was any good, especially since it did NOT use pumpkin purée! And you know what? I like it just as much as my prized Starbucks PSL! Plus, there are a couple of bonuses-

  1. It takes less than 10 mins to make, and the simple syrup will last in your refridgerator for at least a week- depending on how often you use it!
  2. It costs significantly less than my faved PSL! You get at least 5 drinks for the price of 1 (that’s $1 a cup!)

So I am excited to share this incredibly simple recipe with you, and I sure hope you enjoy it as much as I do!


DIY Pumpkin Spice Coffee

image

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C sugar (I used raw sugar, but you can use granulated white sugar as well)
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1-2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice Extract (you can add more or less to your liking)
  • A container to store your Pumpkin Spice simple syrup in (I used a leftover Bonne Maman jam jar, but you can use a mason jar, or any air tight container)
  • A plain cup of your favorite coffee

Directions to make Pumpkin Spice Simple Syrup:

In a small sauce pan mix your water and sugar together. On a stove, over med-high heat bring the water/sugar mixture to a boil and boil until all the sugar has fully dissolved. Once the sugar has dissolved, remove from heat and stir in your Pumpkin Pie Spice Extract. Allow to cool before pouring it into an air tight container for storage.

Directions for your Pumpkin Spice Coffee:

Once your Pumpkin Spice Simple Syrup has been made, it’s ready for some coffee!

Brew your favorite coffee at home, and pour into your favorite coffee cup- then add 1-2 Tablespoons of your Pumpkin Spice Simple Syrup (or however much you want) into your cup. It also tastes great with a splash of milk, and a sprinkle of Pumpkin Pie Spice on top!

No go enjoy your very own Pumpkin Spice Coffee!

You’re Welcome! 😉☕️

image


 

Until Next Time…

Leave a Reply

